Protect: sync passwords

You can sync passwords that you've saved in Yandex Browser on your computers, smartphones and tablets. During the syncing process, an encrypted copy of your password repository gets sent to the Yandex server and then passed on to your other synced devices. At the same time, passwords from your other devices are added to the vault on your current computer.

  1. Advantages of password syncing
  2. Disable password syncing
  3. Password syncing conflict
  4. You have changed your password but your information is still encrypted with your old password

Advantages of password syncing

  • Your saved passwords will automatically be entered into entry forms on all your devices.
  • If your computer fails, you can restore passwords from the server.
Tip. Create a master password to ensure that nobody (including Yandex) can decrypt your passwords.

Disable password syncing

Password syncing is enabled automatically when the syncing option is enabled.

Password syncing is disabled if syncing is fully disabled. To only disable password syncing:

  1. Click  → Save data.
  2. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
  3. Clear the Passwords option.

Password syncing conflict

If you created different master passwords on your smartphones, tablets or computers, there may be a conflict during syncing. For example, let's say you entered one master password on your smartphone and another on your computer, and then synced your smartphone with your computer. In these cases, the browser does not know which master password must be used to encrypt the merged vault.

If there is a syncing conflict, your settings icon will look like this: . To resolve the conflict:

  1. Click . If you don't do this right away, the settings icon will go back to its original appearance after some time. Then click  → Password manager.
  2. Enter a master password for the computer you're using.
  3. In the tab that opens, click Syncing conflict.
  4. The next steps you take will depend on whether you remember the master password you saved on your other device.
    You remember your master password for your other device
    1. Click Merge with password vault on this device.
    2. Enter the master password for your other device.

    That way the browser will re-encrypt passwords from your other devices using the master password for your current computer. The master password for your other device will become invalid. Passwords from your current computer will be added to your merged password vault.

    You don't remember your master password for your other device

    In this case, you can delete your passwords from your other device. Just click Delete. Passwords encrypted using the master password you forgot will be deleted from all your synced devices. Passwords from your current computer will be added to your merged password vault. The vault will be encrypted using your master password from the current computer.

    You can also choose not to resolve conflicts. In this case, the passwords will not be synced (the history, bookmarks and other data will be synced as before).

    Note. If you created a backup encryption key on another device, try resetting the master password on it. Enter the master password for the computer you're using as your new master password.

You have changed your password but your information is still encrypted with your old password

Passwords are saved in encrypted form on Yandex's server. The password to your Yandex account is used as the encryption key. If you change that password, the browser needs to decrypt the passwords on the server and then re-encrypt them using a new key. If an error occurs during this process, you will see an error message. To fix it:

  • If you remember your old account password:
    1. Click  → Save data.
    2. Enter your old password in the sync form.
  • If you don't remember your old account password or didn't change it, then the encrypted passwords will be lost. However, you can restore the remaining sync data:
    1. Make sure that the browser has all the bookmarks, extensions, and settings that you want to save.
    2. Click  → Settings.
    3. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
    4. Click delete under Syncing. Your profile data will be deleted on the server.
    5. Enable syncing. Data will be sent from your browser to the server.